ICM / KA 107

1. What is international credit mobility?

For over 25 years, Europe has funded the Erasmus programme, which has enabled over 3 million European students to spend part of their studies in another higher education institution (HEI) elsewhere in Europe. Erasmus+ now opens up these opportunities to students and staff from other parts of the world.

Under international credit mobility, a HEI in a Partner Country can send its students, doctoral candidates or staff to a partner HEI in a Programme Country, and vice versa. Students or doctoral candidates are able to study abroad for a limited period of 3 to 12 months for which credits are obtained. After the mobility phase, the students return to their sending institution to complete their studies. Similarly, staff can spend a teaching and/or training period abroad for up to 2 months.

2. What are “Programme” and “Partner Countries”?

The Erasmus+ programme refers to ‘Programme Countries’ and ‘Partner
Countries’. Programme Countries are those countries participating fully in the Erasmus+
programme. To do so, they have set up a National Agency and contribute financially
to the programme. The 33 Programme Countries are:
 The 28 EU Member States, and;
 Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey.

Partner Countries are all the other countries in the world, grouped together in different regions. Not all Partner Countries are eligible for international credit mobility (see question 3).

3. Is international credit mobility available with any country in the world?

Not all Partner Countries are eligible for international credit mobility. Switzerland, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, the Vatican City State, as well as Iran, Iraq, Yemen and the countries of the Gulf Cooperation Council (Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates) are not eligible for international credit mobility. For a list of eligible Partner Countries, please refer to pp.23-24 of the Erasmus+ Programme Guide.